Firearms Course

Posted: April 9, 2015 in Uncategorized

I am glad that a firearms course was a part of the Police and Justice Program because I have never handled a gun before. I thought that these two weeks would be hard for me because of the little knowledge I had for guns, but by the end of the course, I was able to handle shotguns and handguns safely. I definitely would like to practice shooting a handgugunn at a shooting range.

Assume every firearm is loaded.
Control the muzzle direction at all times.
Trigger finger must be kept off the trigger and out of the trigger guard.
See that the firearm is unloaded: PROVE.

Point the firearm in the safest available direction.
Remove all ammunition.
Observe the chamber.
Verify the feeding path.
Examine the bore for obstructions.

Leave a comment